jack n’ blue quesadilla

jack n' blue quesadilla

Today I was watching an episode of Mexico:  One Plate at a Time on my dvr and Rick Bayless was making me drool, as usual.  But this time it wasn’t with lots of complicated chiles roasting and vegetables chopping ~ the episode was called “A Case For Quesadillas” and he basically makes and eats a bunch on them.

So it wasn’t much later that I found myself standing in front of my fridge pulling out ingredients to make one for myself.  Locally made flour tortillas, monterey jack cheese, avocado, tomato, sour cream… but I wanted something new in there.  And then I saw it ~ maytag blue cheese.

I got out the griddle and fired up the flame while getting the jack ready.  It wasn’t long before cheese was oozing and I was ready to flip.

quesadilla

Oh joy!  How simply satisfying, and how easy to pull together.  Everyone, well nearly everyone, has a few different cheeses hanging around their fridge.  I keep flour tortilla packages in the freezer and have one on hand in the refrigerator, ready for instant gooey happiness.  The blue cheese was an amazing addition, not traditional Mexican but that tangy salty bite was great with the sweet avocado and creamy sour cream.

As Rick said in the opening of his show today, there’s something about melted cheese and bread ~ what could be better than that?

7 comments on “jack n’ blue quesadilla

  1. love your post – love Rick Baylis – love melted cheese and bread

    • thanks! as a mexican food fanatic i love rick & admire his knowledge ~ if you get a chance to see the episode even on youtube, it’s a good one ~ he shows how to make quick flour tortillas from scratch

  2. Looks delicious! Thanks for stopping by my blog :)

  3. yourothermotherhere says:

    Grilled cheese – great comfort food and one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

