searching for chai

chai teaI like coffee and tea equally, but sometimes coffee is just too harsh on my nerves.  On those mornings, until recently, I would make a cup of Stash chai with lots of milk and sugar.

But then I was told by a friend that black tea contains high levels of fluoride, and the level increases in what is called “dust” as opposed to the intact leaves.  Most manufacturers of tea in bags use dust, so my goal was then to find a loose leaf chai that I liked.  I purchased the Stash brand again, thinking it would be similar in flavor.

stash chai tea

I was wrong in that assumption.  I found it to be too strong, perfumey and unbalanced.  Even with the large amount of milk and sugar that I like to use, I’m sorry to say the tea is undrinkable to me.

As I continued my search for the perfect cup of black-tea chai, I thought I’d try something different.  Some days I don’t want any caffeine at all; but I find the very spices, sweetness and creaminess of my morning chai to be soothing on those days.  The solution was a simple one:  rooibos, or red bush herbal tea, that’s been made into chai.

yogi chai rooibos

The above tea is my current fave.  I don’t like it because it’s from a yogi, I like it because it’s from ayurveda.  Those folks know about spices and how to combine them properly.  I really enjoy the subtle flavors in this particular brand, and since it’s not black tea I don’t have to be concerned about fluoride or dust.

The perfect cup of loose leaf black-tea chai still eludes me.  But, in the meantime, I’m not missing out on flavor one bit.

7 comments on “searching for chai

  1. Eggkins says:

    I love me a good cup of chai, I use TAZO brand with cream and honey. Yummy!

  2. David Morgan says:

    I do like a good cup of chai sometimes. My personal favorite is the Harney and Sons Indian Spice. It is a loose leaf tea with a good amount of cardamom.

    • i’ll have to try harney and sons. heavy on the cardamom sounds good, the loose leaf stash was heavy on the clove ~ way heavy. i might use it as potpourri next christmas…

      love your blog, i used to own the book you mentioned in your latest post. somehow it’s gone missing. i really want to make mead but don’t know if i can wait 9 to 12 months to drink it, heh heh

      • David Morgan says:

        I’ve had that book for several years and have wanted to try that recipe. I really enjoyed reading it when I got it, although there are some changes Ken would like to make to it. One of those changes is something I’m about to experiment on for myself. I’ll be posting about it as I run my experiments but I’ve heard it is something that can really shorten the time before you have a product you’d be willing to drink. I do know that every time I’ve made that Winter Mead, it’s been drinkable very soon after fermentation.

        By the way, thank you for the kind words. It’s good to know that someone’s getting something out of it. I like your blog as well and I’ll have to keep an eye on it.

      • shorter wait time has my attention ~ i’ll be following your progress. cheers!

Leave a Reply

