strawberry rhubarb pie

strawberry rhubarb pieI’m excited to say this was my first attempt at making the classic strawberry rhubarb pie.  I did a quick search online, found tons of great recipes so decided just to use the top results as guidelines: here, here and here.

After absorbing the basic idea, I jotted down some of my personal preferences.  Dark brown sugar is always better in my book; not a fan of flour or cornstarch in a pie so I used tapioca flour from Bob’s Red Mill; not sure how tart I wanted it to be regarding lemon juice.

Since the rhubarb I’d bought at the farmers’ market wasn’t a deep red I assumed it might be a bit too tart for half rhubarb and half strawberries.  So I went less on the rhubarb and held back on the lemon juice.  Maybe in a week or so there’ll be more ripe ones available and I’ll just have to make more pie.

I have a bunch of frozen pie shells ~ a great organic product by Wholly Wholesome ~ that need to be used up so that’s what I did here.  Once the freezer is cleaned out I will get out the food processor and whip up some dough from scratch.

ingredients:

  • one double-crust pie dough recipe of your choice
  • about 4 cups strawberries, halved or sliced
  • about 2 cups rhubarb, sliced 1/2-inch thick
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons tapioca flour
  • generous pinch cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons butter, cubed
  • egg wash:  1 egg + splash milk, beaten

directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375F convection {400F regular}
  • Roll out the dough for bottom crust and transfer to a 9-inch pie plate
  • In a small bowl, combine the sugars, tapioca flour and cinnamon
  • Sprinkle about 2 tablespoons of the sugar mixture into the bottom crust
  • In a large mixing bowl, combine the strawberries, rhubarb, sugar mixture and lemon juice; toss well to coat
  • Pour the mixture into the pie shell and dot with the butter cubes
  • Roll out the top crust and carefully place over pie; trim edges of both crusts and crimp together, ensuring a good seal
  • Brush crust with the egg wash, then carefully cut several slits into top to allow steam to escape
  • Place on a lined baking sheet and bake on center rack for 20 minutes
  • Turn oven down to 325F convection {350F regular} and continue baking for another 30 minutes or so, until crust is golden and fruit is bubbling

strawberry-rhubarb pieYum!  Lots of oozing just like I imagined it would be ~ and such a pretty deep pink color.

I probably could have used a bit more tapioca but overall it came out really well, even with the slightly unripened rhubarb.  I can’t wait to bake another!

2 comments on “strawberry rhubarb pie

  1. That looks so delicious! I wish I could have a warm oozing slice now!

Leave a Reply

